Tuesday, May 17, 2016

Night Shift, Book 3 in the Midnight Texas trilogy by Charlaine Harris

Sorry, I've been offline for a few days. My computer crashed recently and it took some time to get it scrubbed/cleaned, and new better protection downloaded.

One of my favorite authors, Charlaine Harris, released the latest book in her Midnight Texas series.  This third book is entitled Night Shift and brings back all the strange residents of the tiny Texas town.

I don't want to reveal too much about this book.  It was originally meant to be the third and final book in a trilogy. However, while some of the mysteries & plot lines are resolved in this book, there are others left hanging...I hope for more books about the unresolved characters in the future.

Also, NBC is already in production for a series, entitled "Midnight Texas" due to be a midseason replacement for the fall lineup. If you Google it, you can see pictures of the cast, some of whom appear to be in character costume.

Charlaine Harris known as the writer of the Sookie Stackhouse books (which became the popular HBO series "True Blood"), is also known for several mystery series which the Hallmark Channel has turned into movies. Now, of course Midnight Texas will hit the airwaves.

She is an excellent writer.  Her vivid characters come alive, be they supernatural beings or just plain folks. Ms. Harris possesses knowledge of human (and inhuman) behavior, colored with regional habits, slang, and landscape.

Midnight, Texas is a far cry from Bon Temps, LA. In the Sookie Stackhouse books, the characters negotiated their way through the swamps and backwoods. Midnight, Texas is dry, open plains, if you've ever been to dusty west Texas, you'll recognize it from her books.

Check out the Midnight Texas trilogy. I read them in order but you can do what you like.

P.S. since it's the same universe as the one of which Sookie is a resident, there is a bit of crossover...

Until next time!

Take care.

No comments:

Post a Comment